Advanced Study

Students who have completed some modules as free-standing Certificates may like to take their astronomy studies further to a degree in astronomy. The StudyAstronomy programme offers a range of awards from the Certificate of Higher Education in Astronomy to a full 18-module BSc (hons) in Astronomy.

All of these awards require you to have studied certain pre-requisite modules first before taking  a degree in astronomy. The CertHE and BSc are all flexible in duration and allow you to choose modules from UCLan or appropriate credit-bearing modules from other institutes by a system of accreditation of prior learning.

NGC7635. Star field with Green diffuse and structured clouds, and a turquoise bright bubble. Image credit: Mark Norris

BSc (Hons) Astronomy

Course Code: VSASTR513

This is our flagship programme and is the UK's only BSc (Hons) Astronomy degree course specifically designed for distance learning education and studies. It consists of a total of 18 modules at HE Levels 4, 5 and 6 (ie year 1, 2 and 3 undergraduate levels). Students are eligible to enrol when they have succesfully completed relevant courses at University level such as Certificates or the CertHE in Astronomy.

MHT telescope at Alston Observatory. Image credit: Mark Norris

Certificate of Higher Education in Astronomy

Course Code: VSASTR511

On this award you will study 6 modules (120 credits) at HE Level 4 - Year 1 undergraduate level. It is equivalent to the first year of a full time astronomy degree programme. You can choose 6 from the 8 UCLan Level 4 modules or accredit up to 80 credits of appropriate prior learning from other institutes. AA1051 (Introduction to Astronomy) or its equivalent is core to the CertHE. You need to have completed at least 40 credits before enrolling for the CertHE. You can incorporate any University Certificates already awarded in prior education and studies.